[I wrote this post last night for my personal blog – so I thought I might as well put it up here, too, since the point is to write just about every day. 😉 I’d love to hear any suggestions y’all have… :)]

[originally posted on http://www.chaiaddict.com]

Last night I had a not-quite-midnight snack of tortilla chips and mango juice and thought about some of my favorite Bible passages: Psalms with it grand words of praise and intensely personal cries to God.  First John – full of God’s love.  In Isaiah I see that God is always present and always to be praised- even in the midst of trials.  Portions of Exodus and Deuteronomy reveal to us so much about who God is.  Micah sums up in three tiny phrases what God expects of us.

But there’s one verse that stands out to me from all of these other passages.  If you know me well, you know it’s one of my favorite verses in the whole Bible.  Galatians 5:25-

If we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit.

It’s a verse that I share fairly often, but I don’t always take time to explain why I like it so much. That’s what this post is for. ;)

For one thing, as believers we have the Holy Spirit within us.  That alone is a pretty amazing thought.  The fact that God wants anything to do with us is far beyond my understanding; the fact that He chooses to dwell in us is incomprehensible.

If I were to paraphrase the verse it would probably go something like this: “You have the Spirit – now live like it.”

I love the words “live” and “walk” in this verse.  ”Live” reminds me that it’s only because of a work of God that I can have spiritual life.  ”Walk” reminds me that our spiritual life should be evidenced in the way we live our physical lives.

This verse tells me that it’s possible to have the Spirit without functioning under the control of the Spirit.  It tells me that it takes a conscious effort to live like the Spirit is inside us.  It tells me that we have to surrender ourselves to the control of the Holy Spirit to live a life that pleases the Lord.  It’s a reminder that (in the flavor of my post on Monday) without the Lord’s help I can’t do it on my own.

And that’s something I need to be reminded of on a daily basis…  Thank you, Lord, for giving us supernatural help to make that possible! :)