I’ll admit it…  This post was a little harder that I thought it would be.  Not only was it hard to pick a place, but it was hard to put into words all the things I saw there.  Hopefully you’ll like what I wrote – I’m anxious to see what y’all think. 🙂

Rhode Island.  I’m not really sure what our reaction was when we heard that my dad would be going there for a work-related conference.  Other than having the honor of being the smallest state in the Union, I couldn’t have told you a thing about it.  We were in for a treat!

The biggest attraction in Rhode Island is a small resort area called Newport.  It’s just a short drive from the capitol city of Providence.  Cross a few bridges and you’re there.

One of the bridges you cross is called the Pell Bridge.  I lovingly claim it as “my bridge”.  I was driving at the first time we crossed this bridge – It’s a wonder we didn’t go plunging off.  The view from the top overlooking Narraganset Bay is breathtaking.  Sailboats are sprinkled over water that sparkles with sunshine.  Something about the view makes you wonder if, just maybe, this was what it looked like when ship-loads of people sailed to the New World.  Maybe this sounds like a romanticized description, but I promise it really is that beautiful in person.

A minute or two more of driving and you find yourself in the heart of Newport.  The streets are shaded and a little too narrow.  Newport is flooded with tourists during the summer, making parking spaces a rare commodity.  A lot of tourists  rent scooters to make navigating a little easier.

Back behind the shops and even farther from the hustle and bustle area of the pier is a neighborhood.  But not the kind of neighborhood that you’re thinking of.  This one is in another class.  The houses (if they can even be called houses) are set on acres of land.  From the back porches you can see rocky shoreline and endless water.

I’ve never seen such a relaxing and beautiful place as Newport.  One day I hope to go back to walk the shore or simply sit quietly somewhere to soak everything in.